Gluten Intolerance: Facts and myths.

30.03.2020

We produce mills that mainly process wheat and rye grains into healthy flour, which of course, contains natural gluten. Gluten is a phytogenic protein which is essential and healthful for humans. The removal of natural protein from flour is justified only when some dishes for patients with the celiac disease are made, there are no more than 0.5 percent of such people in the world. For healthy people the replacement of natural gluten protein with artificial substitutes, which are usually of the chemical origin, can result in serious health problems. We would like to dispel myths about gluten and encourage you to follow healthy diet.

Is the gluten-free diet safe and who needs it? Where did the gluten free lifestyle come from? Who is trying to convince us that gluten is dangerous? We will tell you all the facts, which you just need to know, not to let popular gluten myths mislead you.

Truth: gluten is a part of the most popular cereals in the world

Gluten is a special phytogenic (vegetable) protein which is synthesized by the plant to accumulate food for its sprouts. The second name of gluten - vegetable gelatin - reflects its special qualities such as stickiness, flexibility and elasticity. Thanks to them, when it is mixed with water, the dough becomes elastic and viscous. Gluten is a part of most cereals like wheat, rye and barley. Almost all bakery and confectionery products contain this protein and human can easily digest it.

Myth: Gluten is bad for health

The myth that gluten is harmful for health is only partly true and is the case of only those people who have celiac disease. Celiac disease is intolerance to food which contains gluten. The disease affects the small intestine and leads to indigestion and the development of dystrophy. Gluten intolerance affects only 0.5 percent of the population. This is a rare disease which, as a rule, is diagnosed at an early age.

Truth: gluten intolerance is a real but rare disease

Noticing "gluten free" markings, many of us think that gluten is something harmful and dangerous for health. In fact, it does not make any sense when healthy people buy gluten-free food. For most people gluten is as easily digested as other types of protein.

Myth: gluten intolerance can develop spontaneously

Gluten intolerance has the form of an allergy, meaning that it is an autoimmune congenital disease which cannot be "caught up" by eating too much flour-based food. In other words, you cannot come down with celiac disease but, if for some reason you doubt your health, you can always go to the doctor and take the necessary tests.

Truth: gluten does not cause negative affect for most people

A person suffering from gluten intolerance cannot eat regular bread because gluten causes severe abdominal pain, digestive disorders, and general weakness. But on the regular basis, products containing gluten do not cause any negative effects for most people. Nevertheless, working with patients who have no  celiac disease but experience similar symptoms, doctors often advise to exclude products containing gluten and look after their health.

Myth: gluten-free foods are dietary

There is an opinion that gluten-free foods contain fewer calories and bring more benefit to the human body. But in fact, all gluten-free products are primarily therapeutic which does not imply that they are dietary, healthy or contain fewer calories than conventional foods.

Truth: there is fashion for life without gluten

Fashion for gluten-free diet is gaining popularity nowadays. In recent decades, more and more people who do not have celiac disease, are monitoring any information related to gluten. Communities in social networks, articles in journals and conferences keep supporting and distributing the so-called "gluten mainstream", although, there is nothing dangerous in gluten in reality.

Myth: the label "gluten-free" is needed for many products

Marketing experts like gambling on the topic of gluten, forcing you to buy more expensive and "healthy" products by fraud. I bet you have noticed the marking "does not contain gluten" on some products in the store. Beware because you can be cheated. For example, meat products do not contain gluten and if you see such a sticker on the sausage, be sure that this is a tricky marketing ploy. This is the case of grain products. Remember that gluten is only found in wheat, rye and barley, which means you will never find it in oatmeal or beer.

 

Back